Archive | 4:51 pm

Baked Lemon and Garlic Tilapia

7 Jan

Hey Everyone!  I’m back!  I was shocked when I went back home for Christmas and was asked by nearly everyone I visited what happened to the Red Headed Chef.  I love knowing that there are actually people that read my blog! 🙂   I’m thinking though that one of my New Year’s Resolutions will be to write a few new posts every month.  A 2 month hiatus is just too long!

So today I wanted to share with you a quick and easy recipe for baked tilapia filets.  I figured this is a great recipe to start the new year with because it fits in with a lot of people’s New Year’s Resolutions to lose weight.  These filets are great because they taste good (not too fishy!) and are good for your heart and your waistline!  I can’t stress how simple this is – I could submit it to Rachael Ray for 30 Minute Meals or Claire Robinson for 5 Ingredient Fix… Hopefully that gives you an idea!  And for all you non-fish people out there, you should definitely give it a try.  This recipe did not stink up my house, and and really does not taste overly fishy.  I don’t think I would like it if it did.  It just has a nice, light flavor and will leave you just satisfied, not overly stuffed – which is much needed after the holiday eating spree we went on!!

Lemon and Garlic Tilapia (serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 2 4-oz tilapia filets
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • 1/2 tbsp. butter, melted
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. dried parsley flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (since I was only making 2 filets I was able to use our toaster oven!).
  • Line a baking pan with parchment paper or spray with cooking spray
  • Place filets in the baking dish.
  • Brush filets with lemon juice and then drizzle butter on top.
  • Sprinkle with garlic, parsley, salt, and pepper.
  • Bake about 15 minutes or until fish is white and flaky.
  • Serve with freshly steamed vegetables, brown rice, and a lemon slice.

Stay tuned because I’ve got some other exciting new recipes coming up like low-fat but still delicious muffins and turkey meatballs!!