Weekend Wrap Up

17 Jul

Since I was so late doing a weekend wrap up last week, I wanted to make sure to get mine done on Sunday this week!  I think I am already starting to slack on this blog when I see two “weekend wrap up” posts in a row.  We had a pretty busy weekend though and ate out almost every meal so there were not any new recipes to share!  I will try and fix that this upcoming week…

This weekend was a really special one for us because our friend Travis and his girlfriend Lauren came from Missouri for a visit.  The fun started on Friday at lunchtime.  I took the afternoon off so that we could hang out, and I was so happy with my decision!  We started with a late lunch and a beer sampler at Brewer’s Alley, a local microbrewery that Karl and I have been wanting to try.  Lunch was really good – we will definitely go there again!  I couldn’t believe it when Travis ordered oysters as his dish, and I was even more surprised when he convinced Karl to try one!  He tried to convince me as well, but I am definitely not adventurous enough.  I think that the texture would really turn me off no matter how they taste!  After lunch we walked around downtown a little bit and stopped at a chocolate shop.  I unfortunately didn’t get any chocolate of my own.  Karl asked if I wanted something, but there was so much to choose from and he ordered so quickly I didn’t have time to choose.  So I had to mooch off of his instead – I’m lucky he likes me enough to share.  This is some kind of peanut butter chocolate sandwich he got.  He really enjoyed it, and I think we will definitely be going back there for more chocolate!

Later in the afternoon Karl and Travis went for a hike, but it was pretty warm outside so I passed on that.  I instead stayed home and baked them some white-chocolate macadamia nut cookies (sorry I forgot to take a photo!), and when they got back around 8:30pm we went back downtown to a Mexican restaurant for dinner.  We took some time to show Travis around downtown and walked along Carroll Creek looking at the bridges.  Apparently though between their hike and his food coma, Karl was too tired to continue walking and proceeded to climb on my back for a piggy back ride.  I think Travis was impressed that I could actually carry a 220 lb man on my back!  We were all pretty tired then so we decided to come back home and head to bed.

Saturday morning we slept until we woke up, had some breakfast (overnight oats – Karl made some for all 3 of us, and I think Travis is now a convert!) and drove to Baltimore.

The Boys

The Domino Sugar factory - I use so much of their sugar I had to take a photo!

We spent some time walking around the Inner Harbor then rode the Charm City Circulator up to the original Washington Monument.  We also stopped for some Slurpees to cool off along the way :-).  Next stop in Baltimore was Obrycki’s for some Maryland crabs.  I will admit that I am not much of a shellfish fan, but I couldn’t say no to these crabs.  It was a lot of fun sitting there with a pile of crabs in the middle of the table and getting dirty while attempting to break them open.  I would definitely recommend going there for some delicious crab if you are ever in the downtown Baltimore area!

Later that afternoon we drove down to a suburb of DC to pick up Lauren from a friend’s house.  We all got on the Metro and rode down to the area around the Catholic University to see her old college roommate who became a nun a couple years ago.  The convent that she lives in was actually having a family gardening day, but by the time we made it down there they were in the process of cleaning up  so we didn’t get to help much.  We did have some time to sit and talk with her about her experience as a nun this far as well as some general Catholic questions.

By the time we left there it was almost 8pm and we were all starving!  Lauren, the only decisive one in the group, was in the mood for Italian food.  I knew we’d be riding right past Maggiano’s (the same restaurant where Karl and I had our wedding reception), and I couldn’t pass it up!

Karl and me at our wedding reception. Copyright Kelly Manno Photography

We all enjoyed our giant bowls of pasta and came home with a lot of leftovers!  (Karl and I had leftovers for lunch and dinner today and will probably have them again for dinner tomorrow!)  When we finally made it home we were all ready to crash.  I would say we probably walked 5-6 miles between our adventures in Baltimore and DC plus the Metro ride and the drive from the Metro made us all so sleepy!

Karl and I got up early this morning to make breakfast for Travis and Lauren before they headed out at 7AM.  They were headed to mass at the Catholic University and then site-seeing in DC.  We were supposed to go with them, but we had too much to do to get ready for the week to go all the way to DC and back this morning.  Karl made some awesome scrambled eggs and bacon and I made a fruit salad and some toast for everyone.  We made sure to get some coffee in them too because we knew they would need some energy for a long day of walking in the heat!  After breakfast we had to say goodbye to them.  We loved getting to see them (I was so excited to meet Lauren!), but we had to make sure we were ready for the work week too.

Our day continue with a morning showing of Harry Potter.  It was so good!  I cried multiple times – I am definitely a sentimental girl!  I love how it all ends, but it is still so bittersweet to me.  I can’t believe that all the books and movies are over now!  The rest of our day was spent doing some grocery shopping and laundry.  I also got to talk to my parents while Karl went to work some overtime.  I wish that I could talk to them more, but with working, working out, cooking, and cleaning and being an hour ahead of them and them being super busy doing the same things it seems like it is almost impossible to find time to talk.  I took advantage and talked to my mom for a good 3 hours tonight :-).  I’ve got lunches made for tomorrow and work clothes clean and ready.  Now it is time to get some sleep so that tomorrow we are ready to work out! We missed some workouts this weekend, but tomorrow we are definitely jumping right back into it.

I hope you have a great week!

 

Leave a Reply

